We highly recommend enabling JavaScript for the best experience. You can find detailed instructions for your browser at enable-javascript.com.


Wait Chapel


The History of the School of Divinity is currently undergoing revision.


Timetable for the Implementation of the Wake Forest University School of Divinity

1989 Trustees approve concept of a School of Divinity; establishment contingent on appropriate funding.
1992 Consultants hired to assess the possibility for a School of Divinity; recommended to continue with plans to begin the school.
1994 Dr. Walter Harrelson, Dean of Vanderbilt University Divinity School, chosen to develop specific plans for the School of Divinity.
1996 Trustees give formal approval to establish the School of Divinity.
1996 Dr. Bill J. Leonard, chairman of the Department of Religion and Philosophy at Samford University, chosen as the first Dean of the School of Divinity.
1997 Mr. Scott Hudgins, Director of the Baptist Studies Program at Emory University’s Candler School of Theology chosen as Director of Recruitment and Admissions.
1998 First faculty members appointed by the Board of Trustees: Dr. Phyllis Trible, Associate Dean and Professor of Biblical Studies; Dr. E. Frank Tupper, Professor of Theology; the Reverend Samuel Weber, OSB, Associate Professor of Early Church History and Spiritual Formation; and Dr. Bill J. Leonard, Dean and Professor of Christian History.
1998 Renovations completed on Wingate Hall, site of offices and classrooms for the School of Divinity.
1999 First students admitted to the School of Divinity.
August 1999 Classes began.