Events

Join us at one of our upcoming events:

 

View information about our past events: workshops, conferences, and experiential courses.

Past Events

Starting a Food Justice Non-Profit: Personal Reflections of a Faith-based Agricultural Attorney

Tuesday, October 17
5:00 p.m.
Wingate Hall, Room 302
Wake Forest University

Ms. Jillian Hishaw will discuss the nuisances of performing faith based work while balancing many policy and legal restrictions that come with managing a nonprofit. Although, Ms. Hishaw is not an ordained minister or a divinity alum, the premise of her work aligns with the parable outlined of the Good Samaritan (Luke 10: 25-37 & James 1:27). Agriculture is the bread basket of our food system and the tillers of the soil are our farmers. Ms. Hishaw’s familial and spiritual reasoning for establishing F.A.R.M.S. along with F.A.R.M.S. program focus will be discussed at length. Ms. Hishaw’s 11 year career in food and environmental justice will highlight various alternative faith based career options for WF’s emerging spiritual leaders.


Matter and Desire: An Erotic Ecology

Wednesday, October 25
7:00 p.m.
Kulynych Auditorium (Byrum Welcome Center)
Wake Forest University

Watch the live stream.

Andreas Weber asks a radical and challenging question: Could it be that our planet is not suffering primarily from a financial crisis, or even an ecological one, but from a critical lack of love? In speaking of love and of eroticism, Weber is not referring to sentimental feelings, but to a new basis for ontology itself, based on a mix of cutting-edge biological findings and philosophical insights.

A German biologist and eco-philosopher, Weber delves deep into the continuity and connections between our bodies and those of all living beings. In this talk he will discuss his new book Matter and Desire: An Erotic Ecology. Written in the tradition of John Muir and Rachel Carson, the book weaves personal narrative and lyrical descriptions with a discussion of ecology and psychology, offering a new—and necessary—way to move through nature to ultimately achieve a heightened sense of self-awareness. The book is part of Weber’s larger project of developing an eco-philosophy—or as Weber calls it, a “biopoetics”—for the Anthropocene.

There will be a book signing following the lecture. This is a free event but registration is required.

Register now.


500 Years Later: More Reforming Theses on Church (as Farm)

Tuesday, October 31
5:00 p.m.
Wingate Hall, Room 302
Wake Forest University

Farm Church is a congregation that meets on a farm and lives out the gospel by leveraging the resources of the farm to address hunger. Imagine if your church was a farm… The church could have a farm-to-table program that is farm-to-prison; farm-to-nursing home; farm-to-inner city school cafeteria. You could have Sunday school in a chicken house, and children and their families could deliver eggs to the food pantry that day! As pastors who have previously served traditional congregations, we are learning what it means to be sent two-by-two to proclaim the Good News of Jesus Christ in a new way that reaches the spiritually hungry and institutionally suspicious. This presentation is a ‘letters from the front’ introduction, not just to Farm Church, but to what we are learning about the ‘next church.’