We highly recommend enabling JavaScript for the best experience. You can find detailed instructions for your browser at enable-javascript.com.

Community in Worship

Community Worship at the School of Divinity

School of Divinity chapel services are scheduled for 11am on every Tuesday and Thursday during the academic year in Davis Chapel.

We study. We teach. We learn together. We also worship together. Weekly chapel services at the School of Divinity give students, faculty, staff, and community friends an opportunity to encounter God as we pray and sing together.  School of Divinity chapel services also give worshippers unique opportunities to embody what they are learning in classrooms, even to infuse that learning with spiritual and theological insights peculiarly present when a community prays together.

Whether we hear the voices of nationally known preachers or experience the preaching gifts of local pastors, or celebrate the homiletical skills of third year students, or listen as faculty members craft that all important move from texts to sermons, the community has a chance in School of Divinity chapel services to reflect together on God’s presence and grace in our community and for the world.

The work of the people in chapel services is sacred work, but it is also educational work as it unfolds in a theological school. What do we learn as we pray together? Responses emerge in the form of questions stirred by our worship:  What does it mean to pray together, coming as we do from such different theological places and spaces? How does what we learn in the classroom shape what we practice in worship? How do our weekly practices of prayer and praise move out through institutional doors and into the worlds where we live and work?

>> Fall 2014 Chapel Schedule

Chapel is held on Tuesdays and Thursdays at 11:00am in Wingate Hall. Locations will vary until renovations are complete in Davis Chapel. Worship Bulletins are available online.

Date Worship Leader
Tuesday, August 26 Service of Beginnings
Thursday, August 29 Fred Bahnson, Director, Food, Faith, and Religious Leadership Initiative
Tuesday, September 2 Fall Convocation with Rev. Dr. William J. Barber II
Thursday, September 4 Courtney Stamey (MDiv ’15)
Tuesday, September 9 Rodney Stilwell, Senior Chaplain, Forsyth Prison and Jail Ministries
Thursday, September 11 Blake Strother (MDiv ’15)
Tuesday, September 16 Chris Rinker (MDiv ’15)
Thursday, September 18 Melissa Gutherie (MDiv ’11), Executive Director, Salvage Garden
Tuesday, September 23 Crystal Rook (MDiv ’15)
Thursday, September 25 EcoTheo
Tuesday, September 30 (Cooperative Baptist Fellowship Denominational Day) Alan Sherouse (MDiv ’05), Pastor, First Baptist Church of Greensboro, NC
Thursday, October 2 World Communion
Tuesday, October 7 Michelle Voss Roberts, Associate Professor of Theology
Thursday, October 9 Rebecca Wright (MDiv ’15)
Tuesday, October 14 Keith Menhinick (MDiv ’15)
Thursday, October 16 Fall Break: No Worship
Tuesday, October 21 Kaleidoscope
Thursday, October 23 (Methodist Episcopal Denominational Day) Roderick Belin, Pastor, Lee Chapel AME Church, Nashville, TN
Friday, October 24 Fall Renewal Service
Tuesday, October 28 Sherry Cothran, UMC Minister and Singer-Songwriter, Nashville, TN
Thursday, October 30 Andrew Gardner (MDiv ’150
Tuesday, November 1 Eboni Marshall Turman, Assistant Research Professor of Black Church Studies and Director of the Office of Black Church Studies, Duke University Divinity School
Thursday, November 3 Kia Hood (MDiv ’10), Youth Pastor, Union Baptist Church, Winston-Salem, NC
Tuesday, November 11 Jessica Place (MDiv ’15)
Thursday, November 13 Tasha Gibson, Minister of Discipleship, United Metropolitan Missionary Baptist Church, Winston-Salem, NC
Tuesday, November 18 Chris Coates (MDiv ’15)
Thursday, November 20 Beatitudes
Tuesday, November 25 Cameron Robinson (MDiv ’15)
Thursday, November 27 Thanksgiving Break: No Worship
Tuesday, December 2 Jill Crainshaw, Blackburn Professor of Worship and Liturgical Theology
Thursday, December 4 Advent Service
Worship Opportunities in Winston-Salem

Finding a faith community to join during your journey at the School of Divinity is important, not only for support, but for spiritual growth and community involvement. To help you find a church, we’ve put together a Worship Opportunities Resource Guide with local churches suggested by current students – view it here.